Temple Leadership

OFFICERS (2020-2021)


Dr. Douglas Segan
The Segan family has been a part of the Temple Israel family for over 55 years. Doug had his Bar Mitzvah and confirmation at Temple Israel. His area of expertise is in emergency medicine. He has worked primarily in ERs in Lansing, Michigan, but he has also done rotations in S.C., N.C., and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. He is an attorney and a member of the State Bar of Michigan. He enjoys writing and he has published multiple articles on medical, medical-legal, and financial topics. Currently, Doug is doing consulting work and he is an Assistant Professor at the Hofstra Northwell Medical School where he teaches first-year medical students. He joined the Temple board in 2016 and became a VP in 2017.

First Vice President

Dr. Fred Rudin
Fred Rudin was raised in Far Rockaway, later moving to North Woodmere. He practiced Forensic Chiropractic in Forest Hills and Valley Stream since 1978. Currently, he is principal in a medico-legal consulting company, OmniMed Evaluation Services. Fred and Shelley Rudin currently reside in North Woodmere. They have been members of Temple Israel for the past ten years. Shelley was raised in the neighborhood and attended Lawrence Middle School and Lawrence High School before she went on to college. Shelley and Fred have grown children; Brian, a private client advisor, and VP at J.P. Morgan Chase is married to Sheena, a cardiothoracic surgery PA at Valley Hospital in New Jersey; and Laurie who is a trained pre-school instructor.

Vice President

Penny Schuster
Penny Schuster has been a member of Temple since she was a child. She, her mother, her sisters, and her children were all confirmed in our beautiful sanctuary.
Penny has been on the board of directors for over 20 years and was an officer when her children were in the Hebrew school. She is once again pleased to be of service to our Temple.
Penny has a BS in Elementary Education and has a Masters in Business Administration. Currently, she is an Ongoing Service Coordinator in Early Intervention. Penny and her late husband Norman are the proud parents of Caryn Novello, an international recruiter for the University at Binghamton, and Jimmy, an attorney at Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver, and Jacobson, LLP in NYC.

Vice President

Edward Gottlieb
Edward is a new officer at Temple Israel. He is married to Stefanie and they live in Lawrence.
They have two daughters and a son. Sarah is a Judicial Law Clerk at the United State District Court in Tampa; Allie is a Senior Art Director for Merkle in Chicago, and Eric is a Financial Analyst for Pegasystems in Boston.
Edward attended New York University where he received a BS in Finance and Management.
Currently, he is President of Pacific Properties, Inc., a real estate company. He is also an Associate Broker at Schuckman Realty, Inc. Business expertise is focused on sales, leasing, and development of commercial properties.
Ed also serves as a member of the Board of Zoning Appeals for the Village of Lawrence and is a member of the Board of Trustees at The Greenwood School in Putney, VT.
He was President of The Lawrence Association and former Vice President of the Board at the Greenwood School.
Passions include tennis, travel, and entertaining.


Elaine Prusack
Elaine Prusack and her family have lived in the Five Towns Community for 27 years. Elaine worked for several large Cosmetic companies and traveled through the Tri-Stare areas running their special events. Later she became a stay-at-home mom to her 2 children. Elaine has recently gone back to her passion for make-up and works locally in the community. Elaine and her family have been members of Temple Israel for the past 10 years. She joined the Board of Trustees in 2016 and shortly after was nominated and elected as the Temple Secretary. Elaine serves on numerous committees including Pulpit and membership. She is best known for her creation of the Wine and Dine Club and the Entertainment Committee. Elaine is also responsible for all the Temple Holiday dinners.


Alan Krim
Alan and his family have been members of Temple Israel for over twenty years. Alan and his wife, Geri, have both served on a number of committees over the years including, Journal Gala Committee and the Pulpit and Music Committee. Both his children attended Temple Israel Religious School.

Financial Secretary

Amir Gal
Amir Gal was born and raised in Israel. At the age of 16, he came to live in the United States. Amir has lived in the Five Towns Community since 1983. He is the owner of a local Electrical Contracting business. Amir joined Temple Israel in 2009. This year he became the Temple Financial Secretary. He is also the Officer that oversees the Building Committee and is on Financial Committee as well.


Nancy Sverdlik
One Year Term
Lauren Franklin
First Year of Two-Year Term
Dr. Steven Fischthal
Second Year of Two-Year Term
Damian Giorlando
First Year of Three-Year Term
Leslie Martin, Esq.
First Year of Three-Year Term
Dr. Deanne Gerstel
Third Year of First Three-Year Term
Dr. Mark Joseph
Third Year of First Three-Year Term
Dr. Stuart Bednoff
First Year of Second Three-Year Term
Cindy Finkelstein
Third Year of Third Three-Year Term
Sanford Hutton
Third Year of Third Three-Year Term


And he shall be like a tree planted by streams of water, that bringeth forth its fruit in its season, and whose leaf doth not wither; and in whatsoever he doeth he shall prosper.
– Psalm 1:3

MaryAnna Price (2017-2019)
Kenneth A. Shapiro (2014-2017)
James C. Rotenberg, Esq. (2010-2014)
Garrett L. Gray, Esq. (2005-2010)
Joel M. Gerstel z”l (2001-2005)
Alan J. Hartstein (1999-2001)
David M. Land (1997-1999)
Jeffrey Scherr (1994-1997)
Richard Berman (1993-1994)
Dr. Alvin J. Baron (1991-1993)
Elaine Pokart z”l (1989-1991)
Daniel Harwood (1987-1989)
Richard Chizner z”l (1984-1987)
Dr. Alvin J. Baron (1980-1984)
Dr. Wm. B. Groisser z”l (1977-1980)
Isabel May z”l (1976-1977)
Marvin Slomack z”l (1975-1976)
Seymour M. Liebowitz (1973-1975)
Herbert Levy (1971-1973)
Millard Cohen z”l (1952-1971)
Elias Weinstock (1951-1952)
H. M. Stern (1948-1951)
David A. Goodkind (1943-1948)
H. M. Stein (1941-1943)
Mortimer Hays (1938-1941)
Francis Gilbert z”l (1936-1938)
J. Nathan Helfat z”l (1934-1936)
Francis Gilbert z”l (1933-1934)
Benjamin Veit z”l (1926-1933)
Samuel Kubie z”l (1918-1926)
Joseph Fried z”l (1910-1918)
Ferdinand Salomon z”l (1908-1910)