Temple Leadership

OFFICERS (2019-2020)

officers@tilny.org


President

Dr. Douglas Segan
president@tilny.org
douglas.segan@tilny.org

The Segan family have been a part of the Temple Israel family for over 55 years. Doug had his Bar Mitzvah and confirmation at Temple Israel. His area of expertise is in emergency medicine. He has worked primarily in ERs in Lansing, Michigan, but he has also done rotations in S.C., N.C. and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. He is an attorney, and a member of the State Bar of Michigan. He enjoys writing and he has published multiple articles on medical, medical legal, and financial topics. Currently, Doug is doing consulting work and he is an Assistant Professor at the Hofstra Northwell Medical School where he teaches first year medical students. He joined the Temple board in 2016 and became a VP in 2017.

First Vice President

Fred Rudin
vp.rudin@tilny.org
fred.rudin@tilny.org

Fred Rudin was raised in Far Rockaway, later moving to North Woodmere. He practiced Forensic Chiropractic in Forest Hills and Valley Stream since 1978. Currently, he is principal in a medico-legal consulting company, OmniMed Evaluation Services. Fred and Shelley Rudin currently reside in North Woodmere. They have been members of Temple Israel for the past ten years. Shelley was raised in the neighborhood and attended Lawrence Middle School and Lawrence High School before she went on to college. Shelley and Fred have grown children; Brian, a private client advisor and VP at J.P. Morgan Chase, is married to Sheena, a cardio-thoracic surgery PA at Valley Hospital in New Jersey; and Laurie who is a trained pre-school instructor.

Vice President

Penny Schuster
vp.schuster@tilny.org
penny.schuster@tilny.org

Penny Schuster has been a member of Temple since she was a child. She, her mother, sisters and children were all confirmed in our beautiful sanctuary.
Penny has been on the board of directors for over 20 years and was an officer when her children were in the Hebrew school. She is once again pleased to be of service to our Temple.
Penny has a BS in Elementary Education and has a Masters in Business Administration. Currently, she is an Ongoing Service Coordinator in Early Intervention. Penny and her late husband Norman are the proud parents of Caryn Novello, an international recruiter for University at Binghamton and Jimmy, an attorney at Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver and Jacobson, LLP in NYC.

Vice President

Edward Gottlieb
vp.gottlieb@tilny.org
edward.gottlieb@tilny.org

Edward is a new officer at Temple Israel. He is married to Stefanie and they live in Lawrence.
They have two daughters and a son. Sarah is a Judicial Law Clerk with at the United State District Court in Tampa; Allie is a Senior Art Director for Merkle in Chicago, and Eric is a Financial Analyst for Pegasystems in Boston.
Edward attended New York University where he received a BS in Finance and Management.
Currently, he is President of Pacific Properties, Inc., a real estate company. He is also an Associate Broker at Schuckman Realty, Inc. Business expertise is focused on sales, leasing and development of commercial properties.
Ed also serves as a member of the Board of Zoning Appeals for the Village of Lawrence and is a member of the Board of Trustees at The Greenwood School in Putney, VT.
He was President of The Lawrence Association and former Vice President of the Board at the Greenwood School.
Passions include tennis, travel and entertaining.

Secretary

Elaine Prusack
secretary@tilny.org
elaine.prusack@tilny.org

Elaine Prusack and her family have lived in the Five Towns Community for 27 years. Elaine worked for several large Cosmetic companies and traveled through the Tri-Stare areas running their special events. Later she became a stay at home mom to her 2 children. Elaine has recently gone back to her passion for make-up and works locally in the community. Elaine and her family have been members of Temple Israel for the past 10 years. She joined the Board of Trustees in 2016 and shortly after was nominated and elected as the Temple Secretary. Elaine serves on numerous committees including Pulpit and membership. She is best known for her creation of the Wine and Dine Club and the Entertainment Committee. Elaine is also responsible for all the Temple Holiday dinners.

Treasurer

Alan Krim
treasurer@tilny.org
alan.krim@tilny.org

Alan and his family have been members of Temple Israel for over twenty years. Alan and his wife, Geri, have both serve on a number of committees over the years including, Journal Gala Committee and the Pulpit and Music Committee. Both his children attended Temple Israel Religious School.

Financial Secretary

Amir Gal
financial.secretary@tilny.org
amir.gal@tilny.org

Amir Gal was born and raised in Israel. At the age of 16 he came to live in the United States. Amir has lived in the Five Towns Community since 1983. He is the owner of a local Electrical Contracting business. Amir joined Temple Israel in 2009. This year he became the Temple Financial Secretary. He is also the Officer that oversees the Building Committee and is on Financial Committee as well.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES (2019-2020)

trustees@tilny.org


Lauren Franklin
lauren.franklin@tilny.org
One Year Term

Dr. David Wasser
david.wasser@tilny.org
First Year of Two-Year Term

Damian Giorlando
damian.giorlando@tilny.org
Second Year of Two-Year Term
Leslie Martin
leslie.martin@tilny.org
Second Year of Two-Year Term

Dr. Deanne Gerstel
deanne.gerstel@tilny.org
Second Year of First Three-Year Term
Dr. Mark Joseph
mark.joseph@tilny.org
Second Year of First Three-Year Term
Stanley Kopilow, Esq.
stanley.kopilow@tilny.org
Second Year of First Three-Year Term

Dr. Stuart Bednoff
stuart.bednoff@tilny.org
Third Year of First Three-Year Term

Penny Schuster
penny.schuster@tilny.org
Third Year of Second Three-Year Term

Cindy Finkelstein
cindy.finkelstein@tilny.org
Second Year of Third Three-Year Term
Sanford Hutton
sanford.hutton@tilny.org
Second Year of Third Three-Year Term
Dr. Steven Fischthal
steven.fischthal@tilny.org
Second Year of Third Three-Year Term

PAST PRESIDENTS

past.presidents@tilny.org

And he shall be like a tree planted by streams of water, that bringeth forth its fruit in its season, and whose leaf doth not wither; and in whatsoever he doeth he shall prosper.
– Psalm 1:3


MaryAnna Price
maryanna.price@tilny.org
2017-2019

Kenneth A. Shapiro
kenneth.shapiro@tilny.org
2014-2017

James C. Rotenberg
james.rotenberg@tilny.org
2010-2014

Garrett L. Gray
garrett.gray@tilny.org
2005-2010

Joel Gerstel
2001-2005

Alan J. Hartstein
alan.hartstein@tilny.org
1999-2001

David M. Land
david.land@tilny.org
1997-1999

Jeffrey Scherr
jeffrey.scherr@tilny.org
1994-1997

Richard Berman
1993-1994

Dr. Alvin J. Baron
1991-1993

Elaine Pokart
1989-1991

Daniel Harwood
1987-1989

Richard Chizner
1984-1987

Dr. Alvin J. Baron
1980-1984

William B. Groisser, D.D.S.
1977-1980

Isabel May
1976-1977

Marvin Slomack
1975-1976

Seymour M. Liebowitz
1973-1975

Herbert Levy
1971-1973

Millard Cohen
1952-1971

Elias Weinstock
1951-1952

H. M. Stern
1948-1951

David A. Goodkind
1943-1948

H. M. Stein
1941-1943

Mortimer Hays
1938-1941

Francis Gilbert
1936-1938

J. Nathan Helfat
1934-1936

Francis Gilbert
1933-1934

Benjamin Veit
1926-1933

Samuel Kubie
1918-1926

Joseph Fried
1910-1918

Ferdinand Salomon
1908-1910