Temple Leadership

OFFICERS (2017-2018)

officers@tilny.org



President

MaryAnna Price

president@tilny.org
maryanna.price@tilny.org

Mary Price grew up in Carroll Gardens Brooklyn. She moved to Woodmere along with her husband Wayne in September 1982 which is when they became members of Temple Israel. Mary got her start at Temple Israel on the Religious School Committee when her son became a student. Since then she has worn many hats including Membership Chair and Nominating Chair. She co-chaired the Journal Gala Committee for fourteen of the past fifteen years and served as Temple Secretary for the past three years.
In addition to PTA volunteer work, Mary had served in Boy Scouts as the Committee Chairperson of Troop 20 and had served as a Girl Scout Leader for the Five Towns Association for nine years. After working as a coach and commissioner, Mary served as President of Hewlett-Woodmere Little League for eight years.
Mary, with her husband Wayne currently lives in Woodmere. They have raised two children, Jeffrey and Rachel who were Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Confirmands and graduates of the Temple Israel High School. Rachel and her husband Shawn Morgenroth were married out of Temple Israel and Jeffrey and his wife, Dr. Elizabeth Moses Price were married by Rabbi Rosenbaum.  Both families are currently members of Temple Israel as well.
Mary, along with her family, owns and runs a surety bond company – Melwain Surety Bonds, in Valley Stream, New York.


First Vice President

Marc Isseks

vp.isseks@tilny.org
marc.isseks@tilny.org


Vice President

Douglas Segan

vp.segan@tilny.org
douglas.segan@tilny.org

The Segan family have been a part of the Temple Israel family for over 55 years. Doug had his Bar Mitzvah and confirmation at Temple Israel. His area of expertise is in emergency medicine. He has worked primarily in ERs in  Lansing, Michigan, but he has also done rotations in S.C., N.C. and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. He is an attorney, and a member of the State Bar of Michigan. He enjoys writing and he has published multiple articles on medical, medical legal, and financial topics. Currently, Doug is doing consulting work and he is an Assistant Professor at the Hofstra Northwell Medical School where he teaches first year medical students. He joined the Temple board in 2016 and became a VP in 2017.


Vice President

Fred Rudin

vp.rudin@tilny.org
fred.rudin@tilny.org

Fred Rudin was raised in Far Rockaway, later moving to North Woodmere. He practiced
Forensic Chiropractic in Forest Hills and Valley Stream since 1978. Currently, he is
principal in a medico-legal consulting company, OmniMed Evaluation Services. Fred
and Shelley Rudin currently reside in North Woodmere. They have been members of
Temple Israel for the past ten years. Shelley was raised in the neighborhood and attended
Lawrence Middle School and Lawrence High School before she went on to college.
Shelley and Fred have grown children; Brian, a private client advisor and VP at J.P.
Morgan Chase, is married to Sheena, a cardio-thoracic surgery PA at Valley Hospital in
New Jersey; and Laurie who is a trained pre-school instructor.


Secretary

Elaine Prusack

secretary@tilny.org
elaine.prusack@tilny.org


Treasurer

Ross Whitehead

treasurer@tilny.org
ross.whitehead@tilny.org

Originally from the Chicago Area, Ross moved to New York in 1982 and onto Long Island in 1993. He is married (wife Valerie) with no children and lives in Lynbrook. Currently Ross had been a Trustee for four years and chairs the Catering Committee. An executive in the footwear industry, Ross currently works for Mark Tucker Inc., based in Manhattan and specializes in global sourcing and product development.


Financial Secretary

Alan Krim

financial.secretary@tilny.org
alan.krim@tilny.org

Alan and his family have been members of Temple Israel for over twenty years. Alan and his wife, Geri, have both serve on a number of committees over the years including, Journal Gala Committee and the Pulpit and Music Committee. Both his children attended Temple Israel Religious School.

BOARD OF TRUSTEES (2017-2018)

trustees@tilny.org


Damian Giorlando
damian.giorlando@tilny.org
One Year Term

Leslie Martin
leslie.martin@tilny.org
One Year Term

Amir Gal
amir.gal@tilny.org
First Year of Two-Year Term

Edward Gottlieb
edward.gottlieb@tilny.org
First Year of Two-Year Term

Dr. Albert Levenson
albert.levenson@tilny.org
First Year of Two-Year Term

Dr. Deanne Gerstel
deanne.gerstel@tilny.org
Second Year of Two-Year Term

Dr. Mark Joseph
mark.joseph@tilny.org
Second Year of Two-Year Term

Dr. Andrew Rubin
andrew.rubin@tilny.org
Second Year of Two-Year Term

Dr. Stuart Bednoff
stuart.bednoff@tilny.org
First Year of First Three-Year Term

Penny Schuster
penny.schuster@tilny.org
First Year of Second Three-Year Term

Cindy Finkelstein
cindy.finkelstein@tilny.org
Second Year of Second Three-Year Term

Sanford Hutton
sanford.hutton@tilny.org
Second Year of Second Three-Year Term

Dr. Steven Fischthal
steven.fischthal@tilny.org
Third Year of Second Three-Year Term

Michelle Jaeger
michelle.jaeger@tilny.org
Third Year of Second Three-Year Term

PAST PRESIDENTS

past.presidents@tilny.org

And he shall be like a tree planted by streams of water, that bringeth forth its fruit in its season, and whose leaf doth not wither; and in whatsoever he doeth he shall prosper.
– Psalm 1:3


Kenneth A. Shapiro
kenneth.shapiro@tilny.org
2014-2017

James C. Rotenberg
james.rotenberg@tilny.org
2010-2014

Garrett L. Gray
garrett.gray@tilny.org
2005-2010

Joel Gerstel
joel.gerstel@tilny.org
2001-2005

Alan J. Hartstein
alan.hartstein@tilny.org
1999-2001

David M. Land
david.land@tilny.org
1997-1999

Jeffrey Scherr
jeffrey.scherr@tilny.org
1994-1997

Richard Berman
1993-1994

Dr. Alvin J. Baron
1991-1993

Elaine Pokart
1989-1991

Daniel Harwood
1987-1989

Richard Chizner
1984-1987

Dr. Alvin J. Baron
1980-1984

William B. Groisser, D.D.S.
1977-1980

Isabel May
1976-1977

Marvin Slomack
1975-1976

Seymour M. Liebowitz
1973-1975

Herbert Levy
1971-1973

Millard Cohen
1952-1971

Elias Weinstock
1951-1952

H. M. Stern
1948-1951

David A. Goodkind
1943-1948

H. M. Stein
1941-1943

Mortimer Hays
1938-1941

Francis Gilbert
1936-1938

J. Nathan Helfat
1934-1936

Francis Gilbert
1933-1934

Benjamin Veit
1926-1933

Samuel Kubie
1918-1926

Joseph Fried
1910-1918

Ferdinand Salomon
1908-1910